Judging A Book By Its Cover

I remember as a child growing up, and I am sure most of you can relate, adults reciting the famous quote, that never seems to get old, “Don’t judge a book by its cover”. Obviously, most of the children growing up in the United States today have heard this or even a variation of it in some sort of way. Yet, as I observe my surroundings I am constantly seeing people doing just this. Judging. I even catch myself doing it sometimes and decide to step back to reevaluate my view of the situation. Society seems to be telling us to do one thing while teaching us the exact opposite. Basically, what I am trying to get across is that,  we as human beings need to step back even just for a few minutes and not judge, but instead try to understand the perspective and experiences of the people around us. I may be a bit to optimistic but I believe that the U.S.A, and maybe even the world, can be better (I know what am I thinking right). Everyone has something special to give to the world whether they be from wealth or poverty. By being less selfish and more selfless to others and maybe doing something that you wouldn’t normally do for some one you wouldn’t normally do anything for, maybe we can see a positive new beginning in our lives.

-EmPower

Leave a Reply

